The Makeup Brushes You Need

Anyone that knows me is aware that I love makeup brushes. It doesn’t matter how many I have, I will always want more. I don’t know what it is about them, but there’s nothing more satisfying than a new, soft, fluffy brush to add to the collection. The one downside to owning a lot of brushes is you guessed it, washing them.  If only there was a magic button that washed all of them for you… a girl can dream right? Aside from all of that, there are many different makeup brands/brushes out on the market, so which ones do you really need? I thought I would share with you the brushes I reach for on a day-to-day basis.

IMG_8737

IMG_8760

1. Powder Brush

The Your Base/Flawless, Powder Brush by Real Techniques is pure perfection. It’s great for powder, bronzer and fixing up those makeup blunders. Oh and have I mentioned that it feels like a cloud is touching your face? Yes, it is that amazing. This brush can be purchased from www.iherb.com (along with all other Real Techniques brushes) for $10.70. Get on it.

2. Blush Brush

Coming from the same Real Techniques family, the Your Finish/Perfected, Blush Brush is just as good. After discovering this beauty I have never turned back. My other blush brushes sit in their cup looking at me longingly… sorry guys, but the Real Techniques brush is a winner here. This brush is excellent at applying the product without going overboard, which makes for a nice natural flush. As mentioned before Real Techniques brushes are sold on www.iherb.com, and this one is only $9.64. What a bargain!

3. Foundation Brush

I have had a love/hate relationship with the Inglot Foundation Brush, but in the past 6 months it seems to be all that I use. I’ve tried many other typical foundation brushes – the flat top kabuki, stippling brush etc however I feel nothing can beat a good ol’ paddle brush. It applies liquid foundation like a dream. Currently this brush retails for $37, although I’m sure there are many cheaper alternatives that will do the same thing.

4. Blending Brush

I don’t know where I would be without the MAC 217, it is ah-ma-zing. I heard this brush raved about for months so I finally caved and purchased it, and it’s sure worth the hype. This isn’t just any regular blending brush, it is the God of all blending brushes. This brush will literally change your life. Okay, maybe a bit dramatic, but seriously… head on over to your nearest mac counter and you will not be disappointed.

5. Basic Shadow Brush

The Bdellium Tools Shadow Brush was one of my many purchases from Sydney IMATS last year and is perfect for the one sweep and you’re done eyeshadow kinda day. It packs on the colour quite nicely and is just an all round great brush for any sort of shadow. If you can’t get your hands on this particular one, any type of basic shadow brush is a must in your makeup bag for all occasions.

I’d love to hear what your one makeup brush you couldn’t live without is, be sure to let me know in the comments below!

Sarah x

4 comments

  1. I really liked how informational your post was 🙂 I really got to get myself one of those foundation brushes, i’ve gotten in the habit of using my fingers to put on my foundation, and i hate the mess I make! I wouldn’t be able to live without my blush brush, its the one I most.

    Xoalyy.blogspot.com

    1. Thank you so much! I used to use my fingers too but now that I’ve tried a foundation brush I’ve never looked back, it’s just as easy and still creates a really nice look! (Only bad thing is washing them :P) xxx

    1. For a few starter makeup brushes the real technique ones are great, they are quite affordable and work so well! Thanks for checking out my blog! Xx

Leave a comment